About Tied Selling

What you need to know

Canada’s Bank Act requires all banks to inform consumers in plain language that coercive tied selling is an illegal practice. Under section 459.1 of the Bank Act, banks are prohibited from imposing undue pressure on, or coercing a person to obtain a product or service from the bank or any of its affiliates as a condition for obtaining another product or service from the bank. President’s Choice Bank has created this page to help you understand:

  • what is coercive tied selling,
  • what is not coercive tied selling, and,
  • how to contact us if you have any questions, complaints or concerns with respect to coercive tied selling.

What is Coercive Tied Selling?

Coercive tied selling occurs if a consumer is put in a position of undue pressure to purchase a product or service the consumer does not want from a bank or one of its affiliates, as a condition of receiving another product or service from the bank.

For example, a bank cannot tell you that you are approved for a credit card only if you transfer all of your investments to the bank as well.

This practice is against the law. If you qualify for a product or service offered by a bank in Canada, the bank’s representative is not allowed to unduly pressure you to buy another product or service you do not want, as a condition or being provided the product or service you do want.

What is not Coercive Tied Selling?

Offering customers special offers, or packages aimed at showing appreciation for their continued business may be confused with tied selling. Common practices that may be confused with tied selling, are Preferential Pricing, and Bundling of Products and Services.

Preferential Pricing:

This is where a business offers a better price or rate to a customer in appreciation for their continued business. For example, where a store may offer you a discount if you purchase more than one item, similarly a bank may offer you a lower interest rate on a loan if you use more of its products or services.

Bundling of Products and Services:

This is where a business combines various products or services into a package, offering customers better prices, incentives or more favorable terms than if they were purchased separately. For example, a fast food chain may offer a meal combination that includes a hamburger, fries and a drink for a lower overall price than if you bought the three items separately. Similarly, a bank may offer bundled financial products at rates or prices that are better than what would apply to the individual products.

Bundling of products in this way is permitted because you have the choice of buying items separately or in a package.

What is Our Commitment to You?

We expect all employees of President’s Choice Bank to comply with the law by not practicing coercive tied selling. We provide our employees with information and training on acceptable sales practices. We urge you to let us know if you believe that you have experienced coercive tied selling in any dealings with us.

Contact Us

If you have any questions, complaints or concerns, contact President’s Choice Bank as follows:

By telephone, toll free: 1 866 246 PCMC (7262)

Services for the hearing impaired: 1 855 223 3499 (TTY only)

By email: talktous@pcmastercard.pcfinancial.ca

By mail: President's Choice Financial Mastercard P.O. Box 4403, STN A, Dept. 5114 Toronto, ON M5W 5Y4

PC® Finance
Se connecter

La vente liée coercitive

Ce que vous devez savoir

La Loi sur les banques (Canada) exige de toutes les banques qu’elles informent les consommateurs, dans un langage simple, que la vente liée avec coercition constitue une pratique illégale. L’article 459.1 de la Loi sur les banques interdit aux banques d’exercer des pressions indues pour forcer une personne à se procurer un produit ou service auprès de la banque ou d’une entité de son groupe, pour obtenir un autre produit ou service de la banque. La Banque le Choix du Président a créé cette page pour vous informer sur les sujets suivants :

  • ce qu’est la vente liée avec coercition,
  • ce qui n’est pas de la vente liée avec coercition et
  • comment communiquer avec nous si vous avez des questions, des plaintes ou des préoccupations concernant la vente liée avec coercition.

Qu’est-ce que la vente liée avec coercition?

Il y a vente liée avec coercition lorsqu’un consommateur subit des pressions indues pour acheter d’une banque ou d’une entité de son groupe un produit ou service dont il ne veut pas comme condition d’obtention d’un autre produit ou service de la banque.

Par exemple, il n’est pas permis à une banque de vous aviser que votre demande de carte de crédit est approuvée seulement si vous transférez aussi tous vos placements à la banque.

Cette pratique contrevient à la loi. Si vous remplissez les critères d’admissibilité d’un produit ou service offert par une banque au Canada, il est interdit au représentant de la banque d’exercer des pressions indues sur vous pour que vous achetiez un autre produit ou service dont vous ne voulez pas, comme condition d’obtention du produit ou service que vous voulez.

Qu’est-ce qui n’est pas de la vente liée avec coercition?

Présenter des offres spéciales aux clients ou leur offrir des forfaits pour les remercier de leur fidélité pourrait être confondu avec la vente liée. Les prix de faveur et les offres groupées de produits et services sont des pratiques courantes qui peuvent être confondues avec la vente liée.

Prix de faveur :

Il s’agit du cas où une entreprise offre un meilleur prix ou taux à un client pour le remercier de sa fidélité. Par exemple, un magasin peut vous offrir un rabais si vous achetez plus d’un article tout comme une banque peut vous offrir un taux d’intérêt inférieur sur un prêt si vous avez recours à plusieurs de ses produits ou services.

Offre groupée de produits et services :

Il s’agit du cas où une entreprise regroupe divers produits ou services dans un forfait, offrant ainsi aux clients de meilleurs prix, des incitatifs ou des modalités plus favorables que s’ils étaient achetés séparément. Par exemple, une chaîne de restauration rapide peut offrir un repas combiné qui comprend un hamburger, une frite et une boisson à un prix total moindre que si vous achetiez les trois éléments séparément. De la même façon, une banque peut vous offrir des produits financiers groupés à de meilleurs taux ou prix que ceux qui s’appliqueraient aux produits individuels.

Il est permis de grouper des produits de cette façon parce que vous avez le choix d’acheter les éléments séparément ou dans un forfait.

Quel est notre engagement envers vous?

Nous nous attendons à ce que tous les employés de la Banque le Choix du Président respectent la loi en ne pratiquant pas la vente liée avec coercition. Nous donnons à nos employés de l’information et de la formation sur les pratiques de vente acceptables. Nous vous incitons fortement à nous aviser si vous croyez avoir été l’objet de vente liée avec coercition dans vos relations avec nous.

Nous joindre

Si vous avez des questions, des plaintes ou des préoccupations, communiquez avec la Banque le Choix du Président :

Par téléphone, sans frais : 1 866 246-PCMC (7262)

Service pour les personnes ayant une déficience auditive : 1 855 223-3499 (ATS seulement)

Par courriel : talktous@pcmastercard.pcfinancial.ca

Par la poste : Mastercard Services financiers le Choix du Président P.O. Box 4403, STN A, Dept. 5114 Toronto (Ontario) M5W 5Y4