Does Mother Know Best?

Mother’s Day Survey conducted for President’s Choice Financial reveals the brains behind Canadian family finances

Toronto, Ontario – May 7, 2012 – Who’s running the show in the typical Canadian household? A new Mother’s Day survey released today shows that women can claim the title of ‘Chief Financial Officer’ in most families.

While moms are the often unsung heroes keeping Canadian families running like a well-oiled machine, we may take some of their duties for granted. Results of this new poll, conducted for President’s Choice Financial by Leger Marketing in late April, found that while a majority of Canadians (56%) identify a male figure as “head of the household,” 41% say that it is a woman who is responsible for managing day-to-day household expenses and bills. That compares with only 33% of respondents who cited a man and 22% who said family-finance duties are evenly split.

According to the survey, the first installment in a series about the Canadian family commissioned by President’s Choice Financial, it appears that mother does still know best. Many respondents said that when they were growing up their mother took responsibility for managing the household expenses and bills (42.8%), as opposed to their father (29.3%) or an equal split between the two (24.2%).

Among the poll’s other findings:

  • In another indication that mom manages the family finances, children are considerably more likely to ask their mother for money than their fathers. When parents were asked if their kids were more likely to go to the “other parent” when they want money, men were more likely to say that was the case (31%), while women were more likely to disagree (66%); and
  • 53.1% of parents said that they do give their children an allowance.

“Research shows us that women and mothers, in addition to their day-to-day responsibilities, continue to play a key role when it comes to keeping the family finances on track,” said Barry Columb, President of President’s Choice Financial. “At PC Financial, we’re committed to helping provide Canadian families with the products and information they need to attain their financial goals.”

As part of this ongoing commitment to the Canadian family, President’s Choice Financial today announced it is teaming up with author, speaker and parenting expert Kathy Buckworth, who will serve as its first Chief Family Advisor.

Buckworth, an accomplished mother of four will help President’s Choice Financial advocate for consumers and educate Canadians about managing their money and realizing their long-term financial goals.

Buckworth, the author of six books, including I Am So the Boss of You, to be released next spring by McClelland & Stewart, is an award-winning writer who’s known to many Canadians as a regular parenting correspondent for a variety of national daytime and news television programs. She was named one of the “Top Parents to Follow on Twitter” by Canadian Parents, and one of the country’s “Top Home-grown Bloggers” by a leading Canadian lifestyle publication.

“As a busy mom and businesswoman, I understand the challenges facing the modern family,” said Buckworth. “I’m very excited to work with President’s Choice Financial, as they continue to find new ways to help Canadians navigate their everyday financial needs.”

Maman a-t-elle raison?

Un sondage de la fête des Mères effectué pour les Services financiers le Choix du Président révèle l'identité du cerveau derrière les finances des familles canadiennes

(Toronto, Ontario – 7 mai 2012) – Qui mène le bal dans les ménages typiques au Canada? Un sondage de la fête des Mères publié aujourd'hui montre que ce sont les femmes qui peuvent revendiquer le titre de « Chef de la direction financière » dans la plupart des familles.

Comme les mères sont souvent des héros oubliés qui permettent aux familles canadiennes de fonctionner comme une machine bien huilée, il est possible que nous tenions pour acquises certaines de leurs tâches. Les résultats de cette nouvelle enquête effectuée par Léger Marketing à la fin d'avril, pour les Services financiers le Choix du Président, ont montré que même si la majorité des Canadiens (56 %) disent que l'homme est le « chef de la famille », 41 % disent que la femme est responsable de la gestion quotidienne des dépenses et des factures familiales. Ceci se compare à seulement 33 % des répondants qui ont nommé l'homme et 22 % qui ont dit que les tâches liées aux finances familiales étaient réparties en parts égales.

Selon le sondage, le premier volet d'une série de sondages commandés par les Services financiers le Choix du Président, il semble que maman ait encore raison. De nombreux répondants (42,8 %) ont indiqué que leur mère détenait les cordons de la bourse familiale pendant leur jeunesse, par rapport à 29,3 % pour le père ou 24,2 % pour les deux parents en parts égales.

Voici d'autres constatations à la suite du sondage :

  • Autre indication que la mère gère les finances de la famille : les enfants sont considérablement plus portés à demander de l'argent à leur mère qu'à leur père. Lorsqu'on a demandé aux parents si leurs enfants étaient plus susceptibles d'aller voir l'autre parent lorsqu'ils veulent obtenir de l'argent, 31 % des hommes ont déclaré que c'était le cas, alors que 66 % des femmes étaient en désaccord; et
  • 53,1 % des parents ont dit qu'ils donnaient de l'argent de poche à leurs enfants.

« La recherche nous démontre qu'en plus d'assumer leurs responsabilités quotidiennes, les femmes et les mères continuent de jouer un rôle essentiel pour garder les finances familiales sur la bonne voie », a déclaré Barry Columb, Président des Services financiers le Choix du Président. « Chez Services financiers le Choix du Président, nous travaillons à offrir des produits et des enseignements qui aident les familles canadiennes à atteindre leurs objectifs financiers ».

Dans le cadre de leur engagement permanent envers les familles canadiennes, les Services financiers le Choix du Président annoncent aujourd'hui qu'ils s'unissent à Kathy Buckworth, auteure, conférencière et spécialiste en éducation des enfants, qui agira à titre de leur toute première Conseillère en chef de la famille.

Madame Buckworth, une mère accomplie de quatre enfants, aidera les Services financiers le Choix du Président à être le défenseur des consommateurs, ainsi qu'à éduquer les Canadiens sur la façon de gérer leur argent et à réaliser leurs objectifs financiers à long terme.

Auteure de six livres, y compris I Am So the Boss of You qui sera publié au printemps prochain par McClelland & Stewart, Kathy Buckworth est une auteure primée. De nombreux parents la connaissent comme chroniqueuse de la famille apparaissant dans plusieurs programmes télévisés le jour et aux nouvelles nationales. Elle a été nommée l'un des « meilleurs parents à suivre sur Twitter » par les parents canadiens, ainsi que l'une des « meilleures blogueuses au pays » par un excellent magazine canadien qui se consacre aux habitudes de vie.

« En tant que mère occupée et femme d'affaires, je comprends les défis qu'une famille moderne rencontre, précise Kathy Buckworth, et l'idée de travailler avec les Services financiers le Choix du Président m'enthousiasme énormément, puisqu'ils sont toujours à la recherche de nouvelles façons d'aider les Canadiens à gérer leurs besoins financiers de tous les jours. »